RSS

Time to throw in the towel?

19 Apr

It’s kind of amazing how I have to drag myself out of bed to get a workout in before work but then half way through it I somehow find the energy to get it done and feel good afterward.

Now if my body would just cooperate I’d be a happy camper. I’m not going to have much to say about running or anything if that doesn’t start to fall into line.

After Tuesday’s fairly good run I thought for sure I’d sign up for the Annapolis 1-mile run. Later that same day is the Eastport Bridge “run” and I had intended to do that as well. But after today’s super crappy run I’m starting to rethink this whole thing. I’ve just about reached the end of my rope with this and have to make a hard decision.

Basically I did the same as Tuesday. Walked slowly for about a mile, maybe a little less. Stopped for a good 3-5 minutes to stretch everything out really well, walked to the top of the last hill, reset my timer, queued up my theme song on my iPod (Hell Yeah by Rev Theory followed by Edge of Glory by Lady Gaga) and ran for it.

The first run was great. It felt good, I ran farther than ever, the stopped when my thighs couldn’t take anymore. Shins felt pretty good despite the fact that they were feeling a little splinty during the walk. Ran again shortly thereafter and didn’t go quite as far as I had hoped but soon after the voice in my ear said time elapsed 2.5 minutes for .2 miles. Beautiful. This inspired me to run again and the pain started to set in so I slowed to a walk, stopped to stretch a bit, then tried again but just couldn’t do it. Ugh.

Basically I limped to my usual resting/stretching spot and stretched for about 5 minutes. Walked the rest of the track and home without any pain but didn’t try to run again as I knew it would just hurt and aggravate the hell out of me again and there was no way I was going to cry in front of the cops again 🙂

As I walked home, pissed as hell, I decided that I’ve got to make a decision here. Do I just stick to walking and horrid in-home DVDs and try again after I’ve lost another 20 pounds? I don’t see how losing more weight will help with this though since I’ve had shinsplints since I was 15 years old and in good physical shape. But I’m just not sure what to do.

When I got home I got the idea that maybe I could hire a personal running trainer for a few sessions so he or she can evaluate my form, observe what I’m doing, maybe make some helpful suggestions. Whilst researching that I found a local running group that’s offering a beginning running program starting next week so maybe I’ll join that. I had intended to join the program at my local Fleet Feet but it started while I was home for my dad’s funeral so I missed out. Plus I don’t really find the folks at the running stores to be that helpful as they just want to sell me stuff.

So some decisions to be made here….

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2012 in Life, Running, weight loss

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Time to throw in the towel?

  1. bzmomma

    April 20, 2012 at 8:19 am

    I’m the same way – dragging my feet out of bed, but once in the gym, I wish I had more time!

    I’m also trying to find a local running group, but I don’t know if I can commit to running w/them all the time. I’m a busy mom to 3 young kids and pup! I do want someone to evaluate my running though and I think I’m in the gym too early for trainers to evaluate…

     
  2. bzmomma

    April 20, 2012 at 8:19 am

    PS – I heard Fleet Feet was good at helping, but I’ve never had personal experience. There was one close to where we lived before, but none closer than 85 miles to us now.

     
    • Bugg

      April 20, 2012 at 8:25 am

      I was a quite disappointed when I went. They were kind of busy, but I felt like they want to sell me stuff and not really help with my problem. I did buy shoes (because I needed them) but when I asked about shinsplints they were like oh you have to stretch and stuff. When I asked for specifics they tried to sell me some $100 muscle rolling device. Ugh.

       
      • bzmomma

        April 20, 2012 at 8:58 am

        oh wow…really? sorry to hear that! just like everything else, guess not every Fleet Feet is the same…

         
  3. beginfromhere

    May 21, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    Holy wow. That first line about dragging yourself out of bed? I feel the EXACT SAME WAY! So nice to know I’m not alone. Cheers!

     

Leave a Reply

 
