RSS

No more slacking!

18 Apr

The weather here has been beautiful so I’ve been out enjoying it and not so much computer and blogging.  Thursday’s creepy guy episode didn’t scare me off but I did slack just a bit due to other stuff getting in the way. Well I took Saturday off as a rest day, ran on Sunday, then took Monday off as we had more house drama so I was stuck home most of the day waiting for an electrician. The fun just never ends around here.

So after slacking on Monday, I managed to drag my butt out of bed and head out to the track. This time I walked about 3/4 of the way around then started my timing app and started the running. First one was very good and longer than usual. Second was OK but shorter. There were two guys up on a scaffold working on something and they were watching me which made me totally self-conscious so it was hard to concentrate. After a short rest I ran again briefly, then 2 more times before stopping for about 1 minute to stretch out at my usual spot.

At this point the pain was pretty bad but the lady in my ear said something about having gone .8 miles in 12 minutes which motivated me to try to run at least once more. The run after the stretch was not bad at all and I managed to get one more good uphill try in before she said I’d gone a mile. So it was 16:44 but I stopped for a full minute to stretch so I’m deducting the stretch time 🙂

So good, good time for me considering the pain and that my legs are really short. Still bummed about the pain though. Still, I’m not giving up yet. On one hand I feel like I’m not making any progress but I am running much longer and much more often than I was one month ago so I guess there’s some progress.

One thing I learned is that the volume level on my iPod is likely much too high. After the mile was up I limped up the hill and was slouched against the dog crap bag dispenser crying about the pain and didn’t even notice the cop 20 feet away from me trying to get my attention. When I finally looked up I saw her waving at me so I pulled one earbud out of my ear and heard her ask if I was OK. Yikes, that’s probably not good that I couldn’t hear her talking to me. What else is interesting is that 4 other people walked or ran by during this time but she was the only person to say anything. Interesting.

So the good is that my 1 mile time was 15:44 which is the best I’ve ever done. But kind of a fluke so I’m still not sure if I’m going to bother signing up for the 1 mile run next month. Jay has signed up to work the event so I’m going to wait til the week before and see how it goes unless I have some sort of amazing breakthrough in the next week. Also good is that I ran, however long or short, a total of 8 times today. So I suppose that’s progress too.

And no big dogs jumped on me. Have I mentioned this yet? That when I’m out the big dogs are just drawn to me and love to jump up on me and get in my face? Ugh, so annoying. Today it was just the cutest little Yorkie. He came running at me and licked my ankles so I scooped him up and hugged him. So adorable.

OK so glass half full still. Half full. Need to fill it up a little higher though.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2012 in Life, Rants, Running

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “No more slacking!

  1. ruralrouterunner

    April 19, 2012 at 5:56 am

    The fact that you are running farther and more often indicates that you are making progress. Not to mention that you just recorded your fastest mile.

     
    • Bugg

      April 20, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement!

       

Leave a Reply

 
