RSS

Another month bites the dust

31 Jan

Yep, I’m still out here. I didn’t dry up and blow away with the start of the new year. I’ve been very focused on my 10 things to work on in 2012, one of which is to spend less time on the computer. Hence, my absence ๐Ÿ™‚

So where do I stand with progress on those things? Well, pretty good. Although it’s been frustrating to say the least. Here are some highlights from some of those items:

Eat within SparkPeople calorie guidelines – Doing well with regard to that. I’ve eaten within the guidelines all but 1.5 days which is great. But the scale has not moved much at all and I’m somewhat frustrated. Every week it moves fractions of a pound. Tomorrow is my weigh day so I’m hoping to see a big jump in a downward direction. Stay tuned.

Do some form of movement at least 3 times per week. Goals are still to run the Annapolis 1k in May and then a 5k sometime before the end of the year. Running is a big struggle right now. I’m OK with the breathing but the shinsplints are going to be the death of me. I’ve been using the Personal Running Trainer app on my iPhone and moved to week 2 again. Again = I tried this last year and didn’t follow through so I started again. I really want to run for several reasons. 1. It burns a lot of calories fast. 2. it’s not nearly as boring as just walking and doing gawdawful boring exercise DVDs at home. 3. I like the way muscles I didn’t even know I have kind of ache after running. Like it’s working areas that nothing else works. 4. It is literally shaking the fat off of my ass. And that’s where it needs to be shaken from the most.

Today I moved to week 2 of the PRT app which is 4 cycles of alternately walking and running for 90 seconds. I could only do slightly more than half of it. I did some shin exercises and 5 minutes on the recumbent bike before leaving home. Then walked for about 10 minutes before the little voice in my ear (that would be the app, not actual voices in my head) told me to run for 90 seconds. Well, I made it about a minute, maybe slightly more, then walked until it said to run again. On the 2nd run I made it about one minute before the shinsplints set in and hobbled over to a bench where I stopped and stretched until the pain decreased. On the 3rd running round I could only do about 30 seconds before it hurt too badly to continue. So I stopped for a minute or two and walked. I didn’t even try the 4th and final running round as it started at the bottom of a hill and I wasn’t going to even try that. I even tried running on the grass for all of those rounds thinking it would be better but it still hurt like hell.

So I’m somewhat frustrated with the running. Sunday I’m going to an open house at Fleet Feet to get some advice. Maybe some new shoes too. I just don’t know what else to do. I really want to do this so I need to invest time and effort into getting this right. Stay tuned again ๐Ÿ™‚

Fast food – Doing great there. No fast food in January, not even Chickfila. I did have a Diet Coke from Wendy’s but that doesn’t count.
Enjoying time with friends – Doing good with that. Spending a lot of time with my Stitch n Bitch friends. Even band is going well. At the start of the semester I decided it was a good time to assert myself so I moved up to 4th chair and asked for some piccolo parts. It was a good move and I’m happy. Would have liked to have some better songs for piccolo but I got 2 this time and that’s a good start.

Managing how I react to things – This is definitely a work in progress, but going well so far. A few weeks back I got the news that I have to be in Chicago for work at the end of February. I don’t like to travel alone and don’t like to travel at all during winter but I’m taking it well. Little bummed out that I will not be in complete control of my meals for a week, but I’m not going to worry about it and just manage it the best I can. I’m stopping in Michigan again for a few days before I head on to Chicago so it will be good to see family and friends.

Work less – I have managed this very well. Although I’m working a bit more for my full time job (we’re working on a major overhaul of our systems), I’ve cut way back on my part time job so I’m feeling less stressed about that and have more free time on weekends to recover from the work week.

I think I’m going to need to revise my weight loss rewards program. I had hoped to lose the 6 pounds I gained during Q4 2011 by now but I’ve only managed to lose a few. That means I’d have to lose like 12 pounds in February to reach that first reward of a spa day and I don’t think it’s feasible to lose that much, especially if I’m going to Chicago for a week. So I’m going to have to take a harder look at what is reasonable and repost.

So that’s my month in a nutshell. Things are going well for the most part and I can’t complain. Looking forward to seeing what Weigh In Wednesday has in store for me in the AM.ย  Until then….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
