RSS

My favorite things

31 Dec

In general, I’m a glass half full kind of person. Sure, I get into ruts now and then when everything sucks, everyone sucks, and life is shit, but I always get myself out of it and realize that I have many, many things to be thankful for.

That said…..

You knew that was coming, didn’t ya?

Anyway, that said, I must admit that I’m thankful this year is ending. We had a lot of crappy things happen in between the all the good that happened. Earthquake, hurricane, terrifying convict manhunt, home repairs, car accidents, illnesses, lots of money going out and not too much going into savings.

And that said, again, at year’s end I’m going to reflect on the things that I love. Not an Oprah-style favorite products type of thing, but just my favorite life experiences from the past year and things I’m thankful for. And also random things I love. In no particular order and doing this in a stream of consciousness manner so I have no idea how many I’ll come up with before my brain runs dry.

So here goes…

  1. When Jay, my mom, or anyone really laughs out loud about something I’ve said or done. For example, when I was at fife & drum practice last month and said “let’s play God Rest Ye Jerry Mendleman” instead of Merry Gentlemen. People are still laughing about that one. About it, not at me, by the way. Big difference.
  2. Technology that keeps me connected. Specifically Facebook, my iPhone, and Skype.
  3. Real, open friendships – like when a friend opens up to me and we have a great talk about something deep or connect on a personal level.
  4. My BFFs shortbread cookies. The most delicious cookie. Ever.
  5. When my BFF tells me I was her sister before she had a sister & that she loves me. We’ve been friends for 30 years and I truly think of her as my sister although she is not. I love the way our friendship has matured and changed over the years and when we don’t see each other for a while, we pick up right where we left off.
  6. That first week when Starbucks starts serving pumpkin spice lattes. I usually get like 3 of them that week and burn myself out until the new year.
  7. Oh and the red Starbucks cups too.
  8. Stitching – crochet, knit, you name it.
  9. SmartWool socks – I replaced all my socks with SmartWool late this year. Yeah, they’re that good.
  10. Whoopie pies from the Amish market
  11. Getting into smaller clothes as I lose weight.
  12. Getting rid of clothes that are too big for me.
  13. Being able to shop at more stores/not having to rely on plus size stores all the time.
  14. Playing music with my friends
  15. Taking a road trip with girlfriends (specifically the trip to Connecticut this past summer).
  16. Having real conversations with my nephew as he gets older.
  17. Getting a great deal on Groupon or saving money by using Ebates.com
  18. York Peppermint Patties
  19. When my cat jumps on my lap or onto the bed next to me and stays for more than 5 minutes.
  20. When someone comments on a blog post or subscribes to this blog πŸ™‚
  21. Finding free patterns or craft ideas on Ravelry.com
  22. Stitch & bitch – so happy to have made such wonderful new friends.
  23. Spa days in the dead of winter
  24. Walking in snowy woods at night. Don’t get much chance to do that here in Maryland.
  25. My DivaCup. TMI, I totally know that! But thanks to my wonderful friends in #22 I have seen the light.
  26. Feeling my bones as I lose weight
  27. Yoga. Although I don’t do it nearly as often as I’d like.
  28. Mastering a difficult crafty thing or musical piece
  29. Learning how to do stuff using YouTube videos. This year I learned to cut my own hair, innumerable new hairstyling techniques, learned how to knit, learned how to transfer old cassette tapes to MP3 format using a $3.99 cable from Radio Shack, and much, much more.
  30. Yarnbombing
  31. Game night. Jay hates it, but I could play games til I drop dead.
  32. When animals find me. This is also one of my least favorite things, as I want to keep all the lost animals who find me, but they must know I have a warm heart for lost critters and will feed them, love them, and help them get back home.
  33. Getting food on sale and then using my FoodSaver to seal it all up and freeze it.
  34. When the leaves change in fall
  35. During the holidays, clementines, fresh cranberries, and roasted chestnuts.
  36. Sitting quietly in the living room enjoying the warm light from the Christmas tree.
  37. Yarn – I don’t think I’ll ever become a yarn snob, but I’m learning to really appreciate good yarn.
  38. Sleeping with the windows open on a cool night and hearing crickets and frogs.
  39. Even though I despise winter, I love changing over to the flannel sheets and warm bedding to keep me warm.
  40. Heated seats in Jay’s car
  41. That our electric blanket has dual controls so I can have a sweat lodge on my side but not roast Jay in the process.
  42. My wonderful friends. Real and pretend.
  43. Cashmere. Not that I often have the occasion to wear it, but when I do, I enjoy the hell out of it.
  44. Bonfires
  45. Hanging out with my BFF playing games, watching West Side Story for the 90th time, or just driving around. I love spending time with her.
  46. That Jay finally has a hobby that he loves.
  47. Jigsaw puzzles
  48. West Side Story and pretty much any musical in existence.
  49. My symphony subscription and having such a great orchestra just a mile from home. Love the quality and convenience.
  50. Henna. It’s still a royal pain in the ass but nothing makes my hair feel or look better, nor does anything garner compliments the way henna has.
  51. My Tangle Teezer hairbrush. Love, love love.
  52. Smelly candles
  53. And smelly bath and body stuff too.
  54. Coffee with sweet cream. And maybe a little whipped cream on top.
  55. Having two jobs that I like. Especially during this era when having just one job that one maybe doesn’t like at all is a good thing.
  56. Having a very cool boss who is bright, competent, and kind.
  57. Living in this cool little city.
  58. Geocaching
  59. Purple Heart who comes right to the house to pick up my old clothing and housewares
  60. Getting great deals at thrift and resale shops
  61. Books that suck me into their plots when I need an escape from real life.
  62. ipods and iphones for reading and listening to ebooks and audiobooks.
  63. Getting free stuff by mystery shopping.
  64. Moving into our new house. Even though we’ve had a lot of unexpected repair expenses, I love this house!
  65. Nice new neighbors
  66. My cute little blue car
  67. Ice wine.
  68. The $2 geranium I got from Home Depot this spring that’s still blooming. I’m determined to see if I can keep it going all winter and set it back out next spring.
  69. Learning something new and helpful by reading blogs
  70. Watching the Twilight Zone marathon on New Year’s Eve (also 4th of July weekend). Annoys the hell out of Jay though πŸ™‚
  71. Singing show tunes in my car. Only with the windows up and when I’m alone though.
  72. Having the ability to memorize dozens of pieces of music and play them from memory in public.
  73. My cat’s meow. It’s more of a chirp and it’s super cute.
  74. When people call me Bugg instead of my real name.

OK well that’s about it. I could go on and on but I’m happy with what I’ve got.

Wishing all of you a wonderful 2012.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
