RSS

Happy Holidays to Meme

23 Dec

I’ve never done a meme before they remind of of that time about 2 years ago when everyone was using Facebook Notes to share info about their favorites, firsts, etc. I also like them for those days when I don’t have much to say, which is kind of a rarity, especially this year with all the drama.

But today I’m going to do the following Christmas meme as I’m in the holiday spirit. Jay and I are both off for a few days so today we went out into the madness and did a little shopping. It was pretty crazy out there so we just hit a furniture store (I’m looking for a new sofa for the living room as this loveseat is too tiny). We also got some cash from the bank, got some stuff from Trader Joe’s for the holidays, and a TJ”s gift card and wasabi almonds for our kind next-door neighbors. They have been so kind to us since we moved in which is awesome since we don’t really know anyone here. Getting out into the craziness was very aggravating but it put me into the holiday mood.

So on with the meme! I’ve enjoyed reading others’ Christmas meme posts.  Thanks to Emjayandthem and Terri for the inspiration.

 

1. A Christmas song I can listen to even in June is: None, actually. I get very annoyed when retailers and radio stations start pushing Christmas at the stroke of midnight on November 1st. I don’t want to hear it until Thanksgiving, thank you very much. At a seasonally appropriate time of year, my favorite songs are the instrumental version of Sleigh Ride, Do You Hear What I Hear, Little Drummer Boy, and a holiday instrumental CD from two prominent flutists (Erv Monroe & Alexander Zonjic) titled Pipers Holiday.

2. Hot chocolate, eggnog or mulled wine?   Definitely hot chocolate in winter, but around Christmastime Jay and I always splurge on a bottle of Bailey’s and goose our hot coffee with a few tbsp of it and a good pile of whipped cream.

3. When do you put your Christmas decorations up? I like to put them up close to my birthday, which is on December 2nd. Jay doesn’t usually like to put them up that early so sometimes I honor that and wait until around the 10th of December. This year I went crazy and started decorating on Thanksgiving day. I don’t put that much up though. Just a wreath, a pine swag on the picture window and the tree.

4. What are you having for Christmas dinner? On Christmas eve we’re having a HoneyBaked Ham and potatoes. For Christmas Day I’m making homemade pasta and spaghetti. Totally non-traditional but it’s just me and Jay again this year so we get to have whatever we want. Looking forward to enjoying the leftovers of both dinners for a few days after. I was actually able to find challah at TJ’s today and just about did the happy dance in the aisle. In fact I was so excited I accidentally kicked over a half gallon of cherry cider that went spraying all over the store. Oops. I like to make French toast on holiday mornings using challah so we’ll have that for Christmas breakfast.

5. What’s your favorite Christmas tradition? Driving around looking at holiday lights displays. There are quite a few in our neighborhood which thrills me to death so this year should be especially good for our lights tour. Another tradition is roasting chestnuts. I always, always get them this time of year (along with a pomegrante) and enjoy them for dessert between Christmas and New Year’s.

 

6. Have you ever gone caroling? Yes, when I was in junior high I used to go out with my brother and his friends. They were all in the high school choir and/or theatre kids so they loved to sing constantly. We’d just go to random houses and start singing on their porch. It was so much fun. Also when I was a kid I grew up in a very tight-knit neighborhood where we’d do a progressive dinner with about 8 other neighbors and we’d always end at the street light in the center of the block and stand under it and sing carols. Good, good times.

7. When did you discover the truth about Santa? I think I was about 8 years old but I don’t remember the specifics. I do remember that I pretended to believe for about 2 more years solely for the benefit of my uncle. He loved to tell stories about Santa and he’d get super excited about Christmas so since I was the youngest and I didn’t want him to lose that feeling, I pretended for a few more years until the next kid was born and he could start over with that one. I wonder if he knew I was faking it.

8. How do you decorate your Christmas tree? My tree is a collection of ornaments I was given as gifts or things I’ve made over the years (like in Girl Scouts). I have tons of Hallmark ornaments from my mother and ornaments I’ve purchased on vacations or from special places. I like to put each on the tree and remember the place I got it or the person who gave it to me.

9. What’s the best thing about Christmas?   Quiet time reflecting on the past year and thinking about my hopes for the upcoming year. Spending time with friends and family.

10. All I want for Christmas is: Peace, relaxation, time with my family and friends.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Happy Holidays to Meme

  1. emjayandthem

    December 24, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Fun post; I enjoyed reading your answers. I like Challah bread for french toast, too – the backup being “King’s Hawaiian.”

    Merry Christmas to you!

    MJ

     
    • PJ

      December 24, 2011 at 2:26 pm

      I adore King’s Hawaiian. I can’t keep it in the house though as I’ll eat every bite 🙂 Merry Christmas, MJ!

       

Leave a Reply

 
