RSS

Secret Santas to the rescue

20 Dec

OK so I know this is going to sound really lame, but I’d like to perform a random act of kindness, but I’m not sure how.

This week my heart has been melted and re-melted again having heard various stories of random acts of kindness or Secret Santas who can to the rescue. For example the anonymous people paying off others’ Kmart layaway accounts. Have you heard about that?  So cool.

The same day I read about the layaway Santas, two of my friends posted on Facebook that they were recipients of random acts of kindness. One of the Fresh & Frugal Divas was buying a car seat for her child and when she got up to the register was informed that some kind person had already paid for it!

Then not 2 minutes later,  my friend Terrie posted that she was out to eat at Applebee’s with her sons celebrating her graduation from nursing school. When it came time for the waiter to bring the bill, he informed her that another anonymous diner had already arranged to pay their bill. Her son was in his Army uniform so it was his way of thanking him anonymously for his service to our country.

A few hours later another friend posted that he had just delivered a new laptop to a total stranger. He had read a story about her in his local paper, contacted the reporter who wrote the story, and arranged for his family to provide the woman with the computer she so desperately needed. The idea being that he wants to teach his two young daughters that Christmas isn’t all about what’s in it for me, but what can we do for others. They plan to do this every year as a family thing to keep the meaning of the holidays close to their heart.

What amazing stories! It’s a stark reminder of the spirit and meaning of the holiday season and how our kind actions affect others and make the world a better place. I want to help make the world a better place, but I’m not sure where to start. I was in the Starbucks drive thru yesterday and was going to pay the bill of the person behind me but no one pulled up.

I thought about just leaving a $5 with the cashier with instructions to apply it to the balance of the next person to come thru the drive thru, but the skeptic in me came out and I got all worried that he’d pocket the $5 and the whole point would be lost. Yeah, I don’t have a lot of faith in people. Which makes no sense when I look back at these incredible stories I just wrote about!

So I WILL think of something before the year is out. I just have to figure out what to do and how to do it so the person won’t know it’s me. And I’ll report back when I do it to share the good feeling with all of you. In the meantime, if you have any bright ideas for what I should do, please share!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 20, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
