RSS

Weekend update

12 Dec

The lights parade was amazing. It was much better attended than last year when it was drizzly and it easy to get a spot along the route. This year we ended up walking downtown (now that we live closer) so the walk warmed us up. We stood by the water in town then walked about a half mile up the road to view from the bridge. The drawbridge opened for about 30 minutes to let the boats switch sides and it was great. This is definitely my favorite event of the year.

It was a bit chilly up on the bridge though so when we had our fill of watching we stopped at the Starbucks to get some hot coffee but there were like 30 people in line. The other 2 coffee shops in town were similarly jammed so we started walking home. We stopped at Jimmy John’s for sandwiches then a few minutes later Jay snagged a cab home. It’s only about a mile but we were tired and cold at that point (and home is uphill LOL) so I was happy to ride. We ended up making coffee at home. Jay found some holiday spirit and added the string of multi-colored lights I bought to our tree. It looks good.

Sunday was the band concert.  I’ve never been so ill-prepared for a show, but it turned out all right. Just one song was a bit iffy. I really should practice more outside of class. Maybe if we had better music I would have. I wasn’t wild about the songs this semester.

That said, I’ve decided to give the band another semester. I spoke with the Queen Bee and the director 2 weeks ago who both agreed that this is a community band and everyone who wants a shot at playing piccolo should get one. He then said that he’ll have to hear me play first though which is ridiculous seeing as how one of the gals playing now is horrible and he’s already heard that I’m better than her. But whatever. I’m not going to go all Amadeus on them and will audition if I need to. I’m not holding my breath that it will all work out but I’m going to give it another chance.

Starting the week off on a bad note. Last night I went to bed early and listened to an audiobook while I fell asleep. About 2 hours later I had a horrible nightmare. The worst ever. Like so bad I don’t want to go into too much detail. I’ve had bad dreams before that set the tone for the next day but I never woke up screaming before. Jay had fallen asleep on the couch and came running when he heard me. I cried and cried for about an hour and didn’t settle back to sleep until about 2:30.  I’m thinking it’s all the stress I’m experiencing from work, home, guilt about not going home, etc. It’s going to be a long day.

Good news weight-wise though – I’m now only about 3 pounds up as a result of my quarter of indulgence. I’ve been right on track (but still not exercising as much as I should) so not bad at all. What is interesting though is learning how much I can indulge and not exercise and the net result of that on my weight. It doesn’t have nearly as much impact as I’ve always thought. It helps to have learned this lesson now as it’s making it easier to move forward toward my goal weight and not stressing as much about maintaining it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 12, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
