RSS

It’s the weekend!

18 Nov

And I could not be more happy. Wow, what a friggin’ week.

So the contractors came back out on… Wednesday? Was it only Wednesday that the sunroom leaked? I have no idea really. Anyway they came out and fixed the wall up. Turns out there was a huge hole in the roof so water has been leaking in there for who knows how long. I suspect it was caused by something hitting the roof during Hurricane Irene since that was the first rain event this year that caused water to pour thru the wall, but I don’t know for sure. At any rate, there was a big hole that went clean thru the shingles and wood that they (somehow) missed during all the time spent on the roof, so they fixed that up, fixed the wall, remudded the drywall. Now we’re just waiting for them to come back and sand the patched portion so we can repaint. Oy. I hope I can get the paint to match otherwise I’m going to have to totally repaint 2 walls.

We rescheduled the flooring people until next Saturday but they could have come tomorrow. I’m kind of bummed, but I honestly never expected the sunroom contractors to get their butts over here to fix things up so quickly. Looks like we’re in the homestretch on this project though. Knock on wood, light a candle, send me some good karma please.

Let’s see what else. Oh, my dad is on hospice again. He flunked out the last time they put him on hospice (when he quit dialysis) but after this last bout of illness his kidneys are continuing to decline. He’s only getting out of bed maybe twice a day now and my mom needs help.

This weekend I’m going to finish up a few crochet projects, paint the sunroom trim, and oh I’m going to the symphony tonight!  I’m so excited about that as I could use a night out and some good music to soothe my frazzled nerves. I only wish I would have been able to finish the beautiful shawl I’m crocheting in time to wear tonight.

The plan was to finish the shawl in time for tonight’s concert (it’s going to look fierce with my navy London Fog peacoat) but things (working 2 jobs, stress, etc) and I didn’t have the time or attention level to concentrate on it. I also had an issue with piecing some of it together so I had to rip out a few rows multiple times. Plus I ran out of yarn early this week and couldn’t get to the yarn store before Thursday (they close early every other day). I could bang it out this afternoon if I wasn’t working but I do need time to block it and get it right. So perhaps I’ll debut the shawl at the January concert or sometime in the spring. The other project is that I’m going to yarnbomb my bike. More on that later 🙂

Have a great weekend everyone! I’ll post about the concert over the weekend.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
