RSS

I wasn’t born in a small town

13 Nov

But I live in a small town. Yep, another song reference. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to the small town thing. It’s so different from what I’m used to.

So Thursday we went to the symphony reception. It was pretty good but Jay and I are not good smalltalkers at all so we were totally out of our element. It’s good practice though and fortunately we met up with some people there who are smalltalk experts so it wasn’t too bad. I’m not usually a nosy person, but we honestly only went to this reception to get inside the home of the hosts. Terrible, I know.

When I got the invitation I was like “meh, yeah I don’t think so”. But then I saw the address and it piqued my interest so I showed it to Jay who had the same “meh” reaction until I handed him the invite and he saw the address. He looked at me and said uh yeah, tell them we’ll be there. Ha! Homes here are very expensive compared to Michigan so knowing the street name of this house and it’s location on that street (lots with acreage and surrounded by water), I just had to get in there. I mean, when would I ever be invited to a party at a $3 million home again?!?

We got there right on time and the home was gorgeous on the outside. Long winding driveway, mature trees, multiple boat docks right in the back yard. Unbelievable. The inside was huge. Probably 10,000 square feet. But the decor was kind of odd and oldish (the couple who live there are in their late 70s) so I wasn’t blown away. I would love to see the water view from inside though.

Some members of the symphony played a few songs and the maestro was there mingling with everyone. I really like him a lot so it was very nice to sit and talk with him for a while. The smalltalk thing though is so hard for me. I’m not nosy by nature. I can be talkative, but I’m not one to ask people lots of questions or talk to random people that I don’t know. People here in Maryland are very friendly and they seem nosy. I know that sounds mean, but total strangers here play the 20 questions game in everyday conversation and it’s really offputting. I’m not sure if they’re being nosy or friendly or what.

For example, at the party, an older couple walked right up to us and started a conversation and just jumped into all the questions. Where do you live? How long have you lived there? Do you have kids? Where do you work? Are you going to have kids, do you have dog? And on and on and on. I’m getting better at trying to fire the questions right back at them but it feels so wrong to me. I honestly don’t think I’ll ever get used to it. We held our own as various people walked up and smalltalked with us but I was literally exhausted after 3 hours of this and was glad to go home.

That was Thursday night. Friday night we didn’t do anything. Or I can’t recall what we did.  I think nothing. I vaguely remember crocheting, working a little, but that’s about it.

Saturday we went to Lowe’s to pick up supplies to finish the sunroom. The contractors (basically) finished the sunroom renovations on Friday morning so we bought primer, paint, baseboards, and new outlet covers and Saturday afternoon and evening we primed the walls and prepped the room for paint. Oh and we had a flooring contractor come out to give us an estimate for wood flooring in there (they’re coming back on the 19th to do the work, yay!)

Today we painted the walls a nice mocha color. It looks super great. Still a bummer that we had to redo that room, but it looks really good and I’m pleased with it. Jay also installed the baseboard moldings. It’s really starting to come together. I’m so anxious to get the wood floor in there on Saturday.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 13, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
