RSS

Just call me Charlie Brown

03 Nov

A few days ago, when I was all excited about it possibly being the best Halloween ever, Jay put his hand on my shoulder and said “You know, I know you love Halloween, but maybe Halloween is just your football.” I had no clue what he was talking about so I cocked an eyebrow and gave him my best “and your point is” look to which he replied that maybe I should stop getting so excited about things like Halloween because they tend to like Charlie Brown kicking that football. He gets all psyched about kicking that football and, without fail, that damn Lucy pulls it out from underneath him and he falls flat on his back, disappointed and hurt.

I think Jay has a point, but I don’t think I’m able to just give up hope completely. Sure, a lot of things go wrong and I’m sick to death of it. I’d love to have just one week where there is no drama, and that’s what I hope and expect, yet it never seems to happen. I feel like I’m a somewhat positive person, but a lot of annoying things happen which put me in a Charlie Brown, Eeyore, woe is me pessimistic mood. But I can’t give up hope that the next thing will work out fine.

The next thing for today is our home improvement project which started out on a bad note. We had some damage to our sunroom from Hurricane Irene that is finally being repaired today. After enduring the estimate process with 4 contractors, we settled on one. They confirmed our appointment twice and we were ready and waiting for them at 6:30 this morning only to have them not show up. It was no easy feat for us both to be out of bed this early and have the cats stowed away in a secure location so when they didn’t show up by 9:30 I was uberpissed and we called the company.

Turns out they changed the schedule and “forgot” to put us back on the schedule. WHATTTT???  Jay burned a vacation day to be here for the first day of construction so if they didn’t show up at all or didn’t do anything today, there would be hell to pay. Fortunately they arrived about an hour later and got right to work. I’m hoping the rest of this process goes smoothly and they’re still done by Monday. More importantly, I want it done right and preferably by Monday. But right is most important. I’m even willing to endure the gawdawful country music if they’ll just do it right.

OK rant over with.

So I’d like to start adding something new to my blog. I’m kind of stealing this idea from a terrific blog I read called Eat the Damn Cake. She does something called a daily “Unroast” which is basically finding something about yourself that you’re pleased with. Sort of like a gratitude journal or daily affirmation, but being thankful and happy about oneself rather than things like family, money, jobs, etc. I’m a firm believer in being kind to yourself so I’m swiping the idea. I can’t believe I didn’t think of it myself 🙂  I can’t call it an unroast though….. so for now I’ll just call it I Love Me.

I Love Me – I just washed and blow dried my hair using the upside down method and I’m SO happy with the way it looks. Very puffy and bouncy. I love my hair.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
