RSS

Giving NaBloPoMo a shot

01 Nov

Since I’ve been trying to be more diligent about blogging, what better time than now. Why now?  Because it’s NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month. So I’m gonna give it a try and do my very best to post something every day. Part of the reason I don’t currently blog every day is that I just don’t have anything interesting or non-bitchy to say. I like to try to keep things positive but, you know, I just gotta be me. So I’m just going to let it out regardless of whether it’s sunshiny or bitchy. And for those days that I don’t have a ton to say, I’m going to check out the NaBloPoMo prompts on Blogher for inspiration.

So here goes…..

Yesterday was Halloween and, while it it was not the best Halloween ever (as I hoped it would be), it wasn’t bad. I was prepared with 80 bags of microwave popcorn and 102 pieces of candy (I ate 3 of them) but we had only 26 kids visit. Each kid got a popcorn bag and 2-3 pieces of candy. The popcorn came in boxes of 40 so we have one unopened box and about a dozen bags I stuffed into Jay’s backpack this morning. They are single size bags so they’ll be great for when he gets the munchies at work. We’ll eat the remaining popcorn over the winter so it’s not going to go to waste. I’m keeping the 40 or so pieces of candy here at the house for when I get a sweets craving. Dangerous, I know, but I’d rather have a few small bites of something sweet than try to stop myself from eating an entire candy bar.

Today I took down the Halloween decorations and packed them away. I only had a few things out. Three electric pumpkins in the picture window, 2 window clings, the topiaries, and a wooden pumpkin folk art thing on a desk in our living room. The topiaries will stay outside until Thanksgiving but I put the rest away first thing this morning. The only thing I have for Thanksgiving is a turkey Beanie Baby and a pumpkin-shaped candle which look cute on the aforementioned desk. Just enough to give a little holiday feel, but not enough to annoy Jay.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 1, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
