RSS

0 more days til Halloween

31 Oct

I adore Halloween! It’s like my Christmas. Actually Christmas I could do without, but not Halloween. I love the weather, the pretty crunchy leaves, the costumes, the spookiness. Come September, I cannot wait for October so I can get my decorations out, plan out my costume if I’m invited to a party, figure out which PumpkinMasters pattern I’ll use to carve my pumpkin this year, what candy I’ll give out, anticipating the kids’ excitement. And then there’s the candy! What’s not to love about that? I’m sitting here at work and can barely function knowing tonight is the night.

When we lived in Pennsylvania many years ago, they actually “scheduled” Halloween around football and school and such. Annoying. Halloween is October 31st. Period. Don’t screw with it. You’re supposed to lose a little sleep on Halloween. It never killed anyone (that I know of).

On October 1st I got my pumpkin topiaries out. I made the several years ago and love them so I made sure to move them here to Maryland with us. People always comment on how unique they are which makes me love them even more. They are simple to make but can be a bit pricey. After Halloween is the best time to make them as all the stuff goes on sale big time. This year I almost had to make new ones as Jay forgot to move them from our rental house to our new house. Fortunately he was able to go over there and retrieve them from the shed.

My pumpkin topiaries

Here’s how to do it.

You’ll need:

  • 2 flower pots
  • Some small rocks or gravel
  • 2 blocks of florist’s foam that fit snugly inside the flowerpots or a can of that foam stuff used for insulation
  • 6 pumpkins (2 large, 2 medium, 2 small)
  • A bag of moss
  • 2 wooden dowels
  • Inexpensive fall wreaths or silk fall foliage
  • Glue gun and glue

Start with the flower pots. Fill them partway with rocks, gravel, or something heavy that will keep the topiaries upright if you have windy weather. Insert the foam blocks or fill the flowerpots with the canned foam.

After foam sets up (if you’ve used the canned stuff), squirt some hot glue on top of the foam and then cover with moss. Insert dowel into foam (make sure it’s straight up and down and not tilted.

OK now take the large and medium pumpkins and poke a hole in the top and bottom so you can slide them over the dowel. For the medium and larges, you may need to cut the stems off so go ahead and do that if it’s easier. For the small pumpkins, just cut a hole in the bottom.

Now, assemble! Glue a bit of fall foliage to the top of the moss layer. Add the large pumpkin. Glue some foliage to the top of the large pumpkin, add the medium pumpkin and repeat. Add the small pumpkin. If the dowel is too long and there is too much distance between the medium and small, cut a bit off the top of the dowel or shove it down further into the flowerpot.

And that’s it!  My favorite Halloween decoration of all time. Very easy to make, pleasing to the eye, and you can leave it out thru Thanksgiving if you want.

So back to Halloween fun. This year I’m giving out individual size popcorn. I found cute Halloween themed Act2 popcorn at Sam’s Club. It’s like $7 for 40 bags of microwave popcorn. I hope the kids don’t think that’s sucky. I’m also giving out some candy too.

I’m especially excited about Halloween this year as I live in a neighborhood where the houses are small and close together and the climate is mild. Most of my adult life Halloween has been pretty sucky. My parents live in a historical district where the houses are old, large, creepy, and spread out so they’d only get the 5 or so neighborhood kids visiting. When I got married both Halloweens at our first house were cold and rainy so no more than 25 kids or so visited. Then we spent the next few years in apartments, then a big house in the boonies where no on visited.  So this year I’m expecting much, much Halloween fun. The neighbors told me to be prepared for 100 kids. I’ll be thrilled to get even half that. Will let you know!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Do you love Halloween? What are you giving out this year?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 31, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
