RSS

At the end of the day…

25 Oct

Ahhh how I love overused cliches /sarcasm. But seriously, that’s the only phrase I can think of to accurately describe how I’m feeling at the end of this day.

Today the phone rang at about 10am. Not abnormal. But it was my husband’s cell phone. His cell doesn’t work in his office so I thought it odd that he would call me at 10am on a random weekday. Well it turns out that he was getting out of his car when some friggin’ moron pulled into the empty spot next to him, totally misjudged how much room he had, and clipped the entire driver’s side of my husband’s brand new car. Yeah, he just got it on Wednesday and now 5 days later it’s been towed to an auto body shop and he’s driving a crappy rental.

So at the end of the day I’m grateful for several things (in no particular order):

  1. That when I added his new car to our insurance, I opted for the rental coverage just in case. My car was in the shop for a full month over the summer and we didn’t have rental so it totally sucked having to share 1 car all that time. Not to mention the hassle of dealing with incompetence from the shop.
  2. That my husband wasn’t hit. He said he was within an inch of being smashed between the cars and managed to jump out of the way before it all happened.
  3. That my husband hauled off on the guy with some very choice 4-letter words. He’s generally pretty easygoing, but was really freaked out and used his words perfectly.
  4. All the damage, deductible and hefty ($160) towing fee will be paid by moron guy’s insurance company.

I’m not wild about the fact that the car was towed to the same shop that screwed up my car twice but what can I do?  All in all, in the grand scheme of things, at the end of the day, when all was said and done, this could have been so much worse. Nobody died, no one is sick or injured, no one was taken hostage by terrorists or abducted by aliens.

But, damn it, we sure could use a break. I feel like life is just one big rollercoaster all. The. Time. Yeah, yeah, I know no one ever said life is fair, there are ups and downs, blah blah, but it sure seems like just one thing after another. My dad has been very sick for years so I can’t even count that drama anymore. And maybe I need to focus more on the good times that we’ve had in between the bad and that will help.

I’m so grateful that we have the resources to pay off our credit card balance in full every month and usually have a few hundred to move into savings. Many people are not so lucky. But it sure seems like we’ve incurred some sort of huge unexpected bill every month since we moved to Maryland that prevents me from being comfortable spending money on a vacation or a splurge. First the huge loss we took on the house in Michigan, 3 trips home to check on my parents, my car was smashed, bought the new highly overpriced house in May as well, shed, hurricane in August that did $5k in damage, and now this after having just bought the car last week.
So yeah, we could use a break. No illnesses, no car issues, no work issues, no unexpected costs from  things, no hurricanes, earthquakes, manhunts. I just want one week when nothing out of the ordinary happens to me or anyone I love. I don’t think that’s too much to ask. In the meantime, I’ll focus on the positive. My health, that I have 2 great jobs, and the resources and determination to pay for all of the above.

On a positive note I’m down a pound from yesterday so my net gain from the last 2 weeks of indulgence is 4 pounds. I also learned that vanilla slimfast with a half teaspoon of almond extract tastes just like cake batter ice cream from Cold Stone Creamery. Especially if you par-freeze the milk for a few hours to get it good and icy. Delish.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 25, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
