RSS

Starting over

24 Oct

Well not exactly over, but definitely pressing that reset button and determined to get myself back on track. I normally weigh in on Tuesday or Wednesday, but I’m motivated to restart this game and see how much damage my 2-week hiatus did.

Drum rolllllll……

Up 5 pounds. I”m not freaking out though as I know some of that is water/sodium from the plethora of salty things I ate over the past 4 days/2 weeks. I could not have possibly gained 5 pounds of fat as I was not THAT out of control or lazy.

The trip home was fairly good. Flight out was a bit bumpy but I’ve experienced much worse so I can’t complain. Flights into Baltimore were delayed due to wind and rain in the midwest so that set me back about 1.5 hours. I was dying for a Zanax but with all the allergic reactions I’ve been having lately I was reluctant to take it and risk having an issue 30,000 feet up so I sucked it up and did without.

So Thursday I got to my parents about 1pm, had to leave at 2:30 for a haircut, my mom left at 2pm to take my aunt for chemo and shopping so I didn’t really see much of her until dinner time on Thursday. We had Jet’s Pizza which I can’t get here so that favorite was crossed off my list. Then Friday I had lunch with Ken which was great but short. He surprised me by inviting our mutual friend Kathy but they both had to get back to work so we ate, visited shortly, then had to run. Went home right after and found that my mom had gone shopping so again missed her for an hour or so. Then at 4pm I left for my sleepover at Rach’s house.

Visit with Rach was very low key. Not that we whoop it up on the town by any means, but we usually giggle and act like morons til the wee hours of the morning. She recently broke her leg and had surgery so she’s a bit down. We did a little yarn shopping, picked up some take out (checked another fave off my list), went back to her house to eat and visit with her husband, then watched The Green Mile. I’ve never seen it! It was SO good! We were both falling asleep by midnight but talked til about 1am before throwing in the towel and calling it a night. Saturday I helped her with some computer stuff and was back to my parents’ house by noon. It’s always super great to see her though. She’s the closest thing I’ve ever had to a sister.

Saturday I spent all day with my mom geocaching, shopping, again very low key. My aunt and cousin stopped by. I haven’t seen him since, wow, for a long time, maybe a year. And my aunt I saw when I was home in April but she was diagnosed with lung cancer in June so I was glad to see her, if only for a few minutes. She just finished her first course of chemo and looks better than I’ve seen her look in a long time. Her voice sounded good and strong as well, probably due to the fact that her lungs are more healthy from having had the tumor removed and not smoking since June.

Mom made her famous spaghetti on Saturday night so that was yummo and another favorite crossed off my list. My spaghetti is just as good as hers but it always tastes better when mom makes it so I enjoyed it doubly.

Spent a bit of time with my brother and nephew each day but my brother is super busy with work so it was very brief.

So all in all it was a very low key but busy 4-day weekend. I can’t believe how fast it went. The trip was a bit of a whirlwind though and went so quickly I could have used an extra day. That said, 3 days with The Lockhorns (my parents) and their bickering and nagging is enough for anyone. I’ll never understand how they can drive me so crazy that I’m ready to leave a day early, but then I cry my eyes out the minute I back my rental car out of the driveway. Ugh.

So here I am, back in Maryland, starting over, not beating myself up about the weight gain. Onward, downward, moving on….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 24, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
