RSS

Second guessing the henna

10 Sep

I’ve been using henna on my hair to color it from a mousy dark blond/light brown to a stunning red for years. Using henna to color my hair really is a total pain in the ass, but it looks fabulous. I don’t usually brag about my appearance but honestly, hair colored with henna is glorious. Especially now that it’s getting long again and when sunlight catches the different deep dimensions of red, it’s just fantastic.

That said, I’m seeing more and more white hair coming in and thinking wouldn’t it be easier to just tone the white and grey and go blonde?  And do I really want to keep up with this henna thing forever? Because henna is permanent. It does not wash out, dye out, Sun-In out, Color Oops out. I’ve tried all of the above to see what would happen and it does not budge. It’s for life or until you cut it off.

So I love the color, it’s somewhat unique, and I get TONS of compliments on my hair. But lately I’m very attracted to long blonde hair and can’t get it out of my head. At this time there is no way I could accomplish blond hair unless I tried to bleach out the henna (which some people have successfully done and reported on longhaircommunity.com) and risk damaging my hair beyond repair and having to cut it off or getting a long blond wig (not gonna happen).

And just why am I struggling with this issue again when I made the decision about 18 months ago to keep up with the henna and NOT go natural again? I can only assume it’s because my hair has grown out long again and I’m feeling better about my appearance due to the weight loss.

Where do I go from here? The options are:

  1. Stop hennaing and let it grow in natural and live with two-tone hair as long as possible.
  2. Stop hennaing, color new growth with chemical dye to match the existing henna’d length, then cut off the henna’d part at some point. From there I could let it grow out naturally or tone it blonde.
  3. Suck it up and keep up with the glorious henna then when I’m old and tired and don’t give a shit anymore, cut it all off short, and move on.

I just don’t know what to do. I bet that if I could snap my fingers and go totally blonde right now, I’d feel like I look all washed out and pale and want the red back. So I’m kind of leaning toward number 2 at this point since I’m not likely to live with two-tone and be happy about it and hopefully I’m like about 20 years from the “I don’t give a shit” stage.  Yeah, I think #2 it is.

Here’s a picture of my current hair color. I’d like to grow it out another six inches if I can.

My current color

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2011 in beauty, henna, Life, Rants

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Second guessing the henna

  1. redhed25

    August 9, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    I know the post is old but that is a beautiful color! I am a natural redhead and just started with henna because my strawberry is fading. I love it. Just stumbled upon your pic and wanted to tell you how much I like your shade!

     
    • Bugg

      August 10, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Thanks! I’m still hennaing but have darkened it a bit so it’s not quite that color anymore. Welcome to the hennahead club 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
