RSS

What a difference one year makes

06 Aug

Today marks one year since we moved from Michigan to Maryland. And I’m happy here. I never thought I’d say those words, but I’m really happy here. It sure was a long time coming though.

Several years ago my husband went back to school to get an advanced degree in information technology for Homeland Security. He graduated with honors, then started trying to find opportunities in or around the Detroit area, with government agencies there, but nothing came up. Things there were and are really bad. After many months he became aware of lots of opportunity in Maryland – opportunities that cannot be outsourced or off-shored – and started looking into them.

I was very opposed to moving again. We spent the first 7 years of our marriage moving around the country for jobs before moving back to Michigan when my dad got sick and my husband’s mom died. We’d been re-settled back in Michigan for 10 years and I wanted no part in moving again, especially anywhere out of state and away from my family and friends.

But the job situation was bleak. People were being laid off left and right from his employer. I thought my job was pretty stable but I was let go after being there for just a few months. We agreed that if one of us lost our job in Michigan, we’d work on moving down to Maryland where the jobs in his field are much more plentiful and where there are activities related to my hobby (fife and drum), as well as lots to do in the area. So since I lost my job, the move was on.

I still was not bought into the whole move thing, but felt that it was the right choice. So in July 2010 he accepted a job offer, we put our house up for sale, and (miraculously) it sold within 3 weeks. We lost some money on the deal but were able to offload the house quickly and not have to live separately while we waited for a buyer, nor did we have to leave it empty for very long. It all went fairly smoothly so I’m very grateful for that.

So we moved to Maryland in August 2010. It was so weird. We had lived in several other states already, but the swift departure from Michigan felt so odd. We got the offer on the house on July 16th while my husband was in Maryland looking for a place to rent. He came home, we signed everything, and 2 weeks later the movers picked up all our stuff and drove it to Maryland. The next day we packed up our cats and drove ourselves to Maryland. It all happened so quickly, I imagine it must be what being in the witness protection program is like. I mean, we just picked up and left and settled into the new place all within a week or so.

And now here we are, one year later. And I’m actually really happy. I’m playing in a band, I found a fife and drum corps and a knitting circle, and I’ve made lots of great new friends.  We bought a house, our cats are happy, and even my husband, who has no hobbies at all, has picked up a few things he’s really interested in. So life is good.It’s not been easy finding new doctors, stores, veterinarian, finding our way around, etc.

We’ve had some sucky things happen. Like our old cat died about 8 weeks after moving here, I smashed my car on Memorial Day and it took all damn summer to get it fixed properly, the basement in our rental flooded last fall when we had biblical rains, and the rental people were just awful to deal with. But we got thru it together and came out on the other side.

I do miss my family and friends quite a bit though. I miss being able to spend a day or just a few hours with my best friend. Especially now that she’s recovering from surgery and could use my help and companionship. We talk on the phone here and there, but it’s not the same. I’ve only been home twice since we moved but plan to get home in October for a few days.

But all in all, I’m happy. I never would have thought it possible, but I am.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 6, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
