RSS

…another door opens

18 Mar

I can’t believe how fast a year has gone by.  Yeah, I know March 18th seems like a weird date to be commemorating.  It’s not the start of a new year or a special day really.  But more of an anniversary.  No, a birthday of sorts.  March 18th, 2010 commemorates the day I lost my job at ePrize and the reset button was pressed on my life and my career.

I’m not going to go into the specifics as they were already detailed in one of my very first blog posts.  I’ve been completely over that short period in my life for quite some time now so there’s no need to dredge all that up again.  It is, however, the reason I started this blog and what it’s named for – all the doors that opened to me soon after being let go and all the doors in my future.  After a year, it’s still hard to imagine that being laid off is the best thing that ever happened to me, but it’s true.

I’m still super happy with my job at Viewpoints Network and things are great.  It’s not been all flowers and pink ponies.  Every day presents a new challenge, a new deadline, some task that requires blazing a non-existent trail.  But it’s been great fun too.  Good honest work with a great bunch of co-workers and leaders.  Some of the most hard-working, ethical, A+ professionals I’ve ever known.

I love my job. I love my managers, co-workers, the work we do.  It’s so interesting and I cannot believe how much I’ve learned in only 10 month.  The time has flown by.

I love that when my co-workers and my managers say that they’ve got my back, they really do.   I’ll never forget that last week at ePrize when I was sick and couldn’t take a day off and was held hostage working til 2am.  Last week I was sick and was able to take a day off and my co-workers handled my product build for me. It’s so refreshing to be able to take time to recuperate and not get stabbed in the back or screwed.

I love waking up each morning and moseying to my little blue and green office (I designed it to match the office in Chicago) to see what the day will bring, to find out what new thing I’ll learn, to learn something new about myself.

I love that there are no boundaries.  The CEO of my company is a guy my age who is just a normal guy.  A nice guy.  A guy who calls me to see how things are going.  And if something needs improvement, it’s improved fast.  If someone comes up with a good or great idea, they implement it fast and that person is thanked for his or her contribution.

I love that my co-workers are so awesome to work with.  It’s wonderful to finally be part of a team.  Sure, I’ve been parts of “teams” in the past, but they were never true teams.  Not like the Viewpoints team is. It’s really amazing to see something so simple actually come to fruition and work well.

I love that my leaders are concerned with my happiness at work.  They check in with me regularly to find out how things are going and how I’m feeling.  They want to make sure that I’m happy, fulfilled, challenged and if I’m not, they want to know so they can fix it.  Based on my work with another client, I was recently asked to support a new, more challenging client to keep me on my toes, keep my challenged, and keep me growing and learning.  I, of course, accepted but didn’t have to if I didn’t want.  It’s been a challenge but a great experience and I’m so thankful to have leaders who are looking out for my best interests as well as those of the company.  It’s incredible to have opportunities offered freely. It’s a refreshing change from having to fight for opportunities.  They seem really happy with me and that makes me really happy.

I love that when I fall into bed at night I fall asleep quickly and don’t lie there awake worrying about what’s going to happen the next day. I’m a worrier by nature, but I really don’t worry much about anything anymore.  Not when it comes to work anyway.

I love that I get the chance to travel to Chicago several times a year for work.  The office environment is terrific and a nice change of pace to my home office. It’s always great to catch up with the team, enjoy the Peapod delivery (LOL), and hang around in the city.

Yep, you heard that right.  Viewpoints has helped me to get over my fear of big cities and traveling alone.  I now embrace the opportunity to walk around the city, see the sights, taste the local stuff I can’t get at home, and find my way around on my own.  I really like stepping out onto the sidewalk on those mornings and walking the several blocks to work with all the other commuters. I’m sure it would not be as exciting if I lived there and had to do it every day (in who knows what kind of weather), but it does my body good to get into the hustle and bustle and breathe in the fresh air.

I love that other parts of my life are improving and things are falling into place because I’m happy.

I don’t think I’ll ever get over the fact that I love my job, that it’s possible to love a job.  And I hope I never get over it because it’s a fantastic feeling.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
