RSS

I’m ready for a condo

15 Feb

OK I’ve just gotta say it – being a homeowner sucks! Yeah, yeah, people think the American dream is owning a home and taking care of it and all that.  But really, it just sucks.  The only good thing about it is that you can paint the walls and make lots of noise inside and the neighbors generally can’t hear you.  And you can’t hear the neighbors.  Oh and the tax break is nice. But really, that’s about all and I officially declare that I’m over it.  This house and yard are too much and I’m sick to death of fixing and replacing things.

It started the day after we moved in when the kitchen ceiling fell down due to the upstairs shower pipes not being sealed correctly.  Then just all kinds of other things go wrong like the spa breaking, the kitchen ceiling falling down again 4 years later, the mirror in the bathroom crashing down, the sump pump failing and flooding our basement.

Oh let’s see, what else?  Oh, our driveway and sidewalks twisted and turned like the Tacoma Narrows bridge so we had to replace that as well as half of our front porch which also sunk.  Last month we replaced the carpet on the main level which wasn’t cheap. Hmmm, oh, then there’s the dead ash tree we had to have cut down and hauled away.  There are 2 dead elms in the back yard that need to go. I’m thinking of making totem poles from them to avoid the expense of the stump grinding.

And now today the washing machine is acting up. It fills, it spins, it drains, but it won’t agitate and now I’M agitated.  Fortunately I think The Power of The Internet is going to save the day again.   I was reading online to see if I could find a site that would help me repair it myself.  I once repaired our spa by myself and thought I could fix the washer too.  I’m a somewhat handy chick who has fixed and remodeled lots of things in the past so I’m not afraid to take things apart and put them back together again.

The first site I found seemed straightforward enough but I’m tired today and the repair just wasn’t registering in my brain.  So I thought F this, I’m just going to suck it up and call Whirlpool.  Well I filled out their multi-page service request form and after filling out all the info got a message that said sorry our online form is not working right now, please call us.  Ugh.  Well that ticked me off so I read that repair site again while looking at the agitator on my washer and I’m pretty sure I have it figured out.

So I ordered the part for $14 and am going to give it a shot.  I have a good feeling that The Power of the Internet is going to save the day once again.  Stay tuned for the update!

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “I’m ready for a condo

  1. The Handyguys

    February 16, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Good luck with the agitator! Sometimes things cab be pretty simple. Was it a belt or transmission? Just curious. If you ever have any home improvement questions feel free to drop us a line. You can get our weekly home improvement podcasts at http://www.handyguyspodcast.com

    -Brian

     
  2. whenonedoorcloses

    February 16, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Thanks for the comment! Well, based on what I read and what my washer is doing (or not doing), a few sources speculate that its the agitator dogs. So I ordered some and will give it a shot once they arrive. If it’s not that I guess I’ll call Whirlpool service although I don’t really want to do that. So I’ve got my fingers crossed. I’m just glad we noticed the problem on the last load of laundry so I don’t have to drag stuff to the laundromat.

     

Leave a Reply

 
