RSS

There’s no place like the right place at the right time

14 Feb

I’ll admit that I’m not the most spontaneous person.   I’m more of a plan things out a few days ahead, or at least the night before.  Last night we had planned to do a little shopping for new living room furniture and maybe grab an early dinner.   We don’t officially celebrate Valentine’s day in a chocolate, candy, flowers, expensive way, but usually go out for dinner somewhere a day or two before and call it Valentine’s day.

So we shopped for some furniture, stopped at our favorite Chinese place , then headed home around 6:30pm.  John decided he had to have coffee if he was going to stay awake past 8pm, so we popped into the Starbucks near our house and snagged a few lattes.  As we were taking our drinks from the pedestal, the barista asked us if we had plans (we looked at each other with raised eyebrows like “where is THIS going?”) and said we were just headed home.  She said that she had 2 tickets for The Wizard of Oz at the Fisher Theatre in Detroit and asked if we wanted them for free.  She had been trying to give them away all day and no one wanted them.

Now The Wizard of Oz is my all time favorite movie. I watch it every time it’s on and I even own a Dorothy costume that I made by hand.  So you’d think that I’d jump at the chance, but I’ve been feeling kind of sinusy (is that a word?) all day and was really looking forward to going home, changing into PJs, and jumping into my warm bed to watch a little Olympic action.  Plus the show started in only 45 minutes and, ever the skeptic, I was sure we’d get there and find that the tickets were fakes or stolen or something.

Well after about 3 minutes of thinking, John talked me into it.  We really had nothing better to do but lay around like slugs anyway and a little adventure She gave us the tickets, we rushed home to change into something more appropriate and were out the door and on our way.

We had the best time!  Great seats (4th row center), free parking, free tickets (they were $85 each).  It was just a really great, unexpected night and the show was terrific.  It was really fun to hum along to the songs and see the many ways they creatively brought my favorite movie to the live stage.  I still can’t believe that we went home, changed, drove downtown, parked and still made it with a few minutes to spare.

I really cannot say enough good things about the show itself. I admit I was skeptical that my favorite movie could translate to the stage and that I’d enjoy it.  But it absolutely captivated me to the point that I’m still humming the songs almost 24 hours later and can’t stop thinking about it.

The story stayed fairly true to the movie but was embellished for laughs here and there.  The costuming and dancing were really great too, especially during the poppy field scene where male and female dancers dressed in red served as the poppies and artfully turned their costumes inside out from poppy red to snow white.  I normally cannot stand the Lion in the film but the guy who played Lion on stage was awesome and I just fell in love with Lion in this version.  And the amazing dog who played Toto absolutely melted my heart.  He got lots of “awwwwws” all thru the show and huge applause at the end.

We're off to see the Wizard...

The Wizard of Oz on stage was a big hit and I’m so glad John talked me into going.  I’m not sure if it was the spontaneity of the evening, the free tickets, or what, but I grinned like a goon the entire time.  The 2.5 hours just flew by, and I had to bite my tongue to keep from standing up and jumping on stage to get into the action.  After the final bows were done, the case broke into two strains of “We’re Off To See The Wizard” and the whole audience clapped along and I sang my heart out with tears in my eyes.  Looking around, I was the only one singing along but I didn’t care.  It was great fun to see my favorite movie brought to life mere fit from where we sat in the fourth row.  Maybe the other people were pissed to have spent nearly $100 each for a ticket or maybe they’re just party poopers, but I had the time of my life.

So while it’s not the Power of  The Internet that amazed me today, it’s the joy of giving in to spontaneity and the thoughtfulness of strangers that just made my day.  John went back to Starbucks today to get himself a coffee and to leave a big tip for the thoughtful barista who made my day.

EFA66JS3VUMG

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2010 in frugal living, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
