RSS

Power of the Internet – Haunted Camera

13 Feb

So I’m back with another Power of the Internet story.  This week I’m just amazed at how quickly I was able to resolve a problem I had with my digital camera simply by Googling the words “Canon pictures distorted”.  And I’m also amazed by the unprecedented customer service provided by Canon.  I was a fan before, but will definitely buy another Canon product in the future based on this experience.

Back in October my camera started acting really crazy.  At the time I was using it to take pictures at a ghost hunt at Historic Fort Wayne in Detroit.  My friends Kathy and Lauren were standing inside of a sally port playing our fifes to see if we could rile up some spirits.  My friend Renee was taking pictures from a few yards away and informed me that my camera was behaving very strangely.  We made some jokes about the camera being haunted or cold and were able to get a few good pictures from it before it finally gave up the ghost (pun intended).

Is the Canon broken… or perhaps haunted?

Here’s the first bad picture that the camera took.  It’s actually not at all bad compared to how bad it eventually got.  Now I’m lucky if one in ten pictures turns out and I’ve stopped using it altogether in favor of my Kodak EasyShare which isn’t all that good of a camera.

I was all set to buy a new camera but hadn’t yet found the interest in doing the research yet to find a camera I think I’d like as well as my PowerShot A75.  My husband saw a camera on QVC that he liked and he wanted to order it but I talked him out of it.

Instead, I decided to see if anyone else had reported this crazy, purple vertical line issue on the internet so I could determine what might be wrong, if it’s fixable, and how expensive that fix might be.

I had no idea what to search for so I just Googled “Canon pictures distorted” as that’s exactly what the problem was.  I clicked the Search button and within seconds found all kinds of topics and blogs from people who had the same problem.  And the top search result was a consumer advisory from Canon itself describing my problem, what might be causing it, and a detailed explanation of how to send my camera in for a free repair!

At first I thought this way too good to be true, but there it was on their official site.  So I called Canon customer service to explain my problem and spoke to Timothy out of Tidewater, VA.  Yes, there still are companies who don’t offshore their customer service lines (thank you, Canon!).  Timothy took my info, we had a friendly little chat, and he sent me a UPS label to send my camera in for the free repair.

Less than 48 hours later I received an email from Canon explaining that they had received my camera, are working on fixing it, and that it should be back in my hands within 7 business days.  They even sent a tracking number and website that I can use to track the progress of my repair and my camera’s trek back to Detroit.  My beloved camera make it back to me in yesterday’s mail – less than a full week from when I dropped it off at the UPS store.  Amazing.  Truly amazing.

I was ready to toss that camera and get a new one but the Power of the Internet saved the day again!   The Power of the Internet always surprises me, but what REALLY blows me away is the incredible customer service I’ve received from Canon.  It has not gone unnoticed and increased my loyalty to the brand. Thanks, again, Canon!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
