RSS

Do NOT keep me waiting

10 Feb

Call me old fashioned, but one of my biggest pet peeves is lateness.  In anyone.  Sure, sometimes lateness due to alarm clocks not going off, weather, babysitters, emergencies, etc cannot be helped.  It’s the habitual lateness of others that drives me nuts, especially when someone else’s lateness causes ME to be be late.

Why?  Because it’s freaking rude.  I’m that person who shows up 15 minutes early to most everything.  You’ll never catch me late for work, late for a doctor’s appointment, walking into the movies after the trailers have started, or the last to get on an airplane. So when I’m driving to work with you, traveling with you, going to the movies or a play with you and YOU are late, I’m pissed because not only do you look like an ass, *I* do too.

When I visit my gyno and my dermatologist I get the first appointment of the day and still end up waiting half an hour for them.  Yes, I understand that doctors have emergencies which can make them late.  The gyno could have had a baby to deliver but there cannot possibly be any dermatological emergencies to contend with at 8am.   She’s just standing back there with her nurses and staff shooting the breeze around the coffee pot.  Don’t stand there wasting time when someone is sitting there like a big goomer waiting for you.

Lately it’s my husband who is perpetually late to everything and it really bugs me.  I cut him so slack after his accident when he was in pain and had his arm casted, but that’s over now.  He was late getting to my office when we were in Chicago last month so he had to stand out on the street in the cold and didn’t get to see our cool office.  Last Friday I drove him to his physical therapy which was supposed to start at 5pm but we got there 15 minutes late because he couldn’t find his shoes, his wallet, his favorite hoodie, his watch.

So while I’m sitting there waiting for him to finish his therapy, one of the therapists walks up to the receptionist at 5:50 to tell her that he has to leave at 6pm and where the hell is his 5:30 appointment.  Well she walked in at 5:59 and he didn’t get to leave til 6:3o.  Rude.  Then the same thing happened to another therapist.  She was scheduled to leave at 6:30 but her 6pm appointment didn’t get there til 6:25 so she stayed.  Rude, rude, rude.

So my question is: Why must people be late and rude?  Why can’t they pick up the phone and say “hey physical therapist, I’m running late, can you accommodate me a half hour late or should I reschedule for another day?  Why can’t these perpetually late people just get an earlier start?

Right now, my husband is at the vet with the cat.  He was 15 minutes late.  I’m glad I didn’t go with him and was able to avoid the late walk of shame.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2010 in Life, Rants

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Do NOT keep me waiting

  1. CanCan

    February 10, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I used to feel similarly, but 9 years in a culture that has a different view on punctuality has made me see that my ideas were a product of my culture. Not necessarily a true case of me being “right” because I was prompt (or early) and them being “wrong” for keeping me waiting.

     
  2. whenonedoorcloses

    February 11, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Thanks for the comment. That’s a really good way of looking at it (right vs wrong).

     

Leave a Reply

 
