RSS

I finally got a tattoo!!!

16 Jul

So after years of wanting to get a tattoo, I FINALLY went ahead and did it!  Yay.

Last night a friend told me she was going in to get her 2nd tattoo and, knowing that I wanted one too, she invited me to come along.  She lives far away so I almost let that be the deal breaker, but I thought awwww what the hell, I’m going.

As I said, I’ve been wanting a tattoo for years but two things were holding me back. 1. I had no idea what design I wanted and where to place it on my body; and 2. I am the biggest baby when it comes to pain.  Seriously.  I get a flu shot every year and it doesn’t hurt.  I know it doesn’t hurt.  But every year when they’re about to stick me with the needle I get all freaked out and start to hyperventilate and worry that it will hurt.  That’s nuts.  So really the pain was the biggest thing holding me back.

But then one night I got a vision of the tattoo I wanted and have been unable to stop thinking about it since.  In November 2008 our cat Molly died.  She was the first cat my husband and I got together, just a few days after we got back from our honeymoon. She lived a good long 16-year life but it was still very sad and we had to euthanize her.  She had a stroke and was suffering and she made it obvious that it was her time to go so we did it.  John held her as they administered the drugs that would stop her heart and we brought her home and buried her in the back yard under the pine tree that she loved to hang out under.  So the night she died I literally sat up in bed and exclaimed, “cat feet!”  I decided that I wanted four little black cat feet on the inner ankle of my left leg.  One for each of our four cats – Molly, Mia, Izzie, & Luna.

I was between jobs at the time so I went to the tattoo parlor nearest my house with my idea.  The place was nice and clean but the guy in there kind of freaked me out and I didn’t really like the design he came up with so I ended up leaving and not having it done.  He suggested that I come back with a friend, preferably one who already has tattoos, that it might be easier for me.

So when Crysta emailed to tell me that she was getting her 2nd tattoo and that I should come with, I decided this was the time.  I drove out to her house and she and I and her friend Kelly drove to Ink Addiction in Garden City together.  We all confirmed our designs with Kurt, the tattoo artist.  I went first (they made me), which kind of freaked me out, but Crysta stood right there and I squeezed her arm when Kurt started.  And you know what?  It hardly hurt at all!  It was annoying and I was glad when it was over, but it was not nearly as bad as I thought it would be.

Oddly enough, it felt like a series of cat scrathes!  About 10 minutes of constant cat scratches, nothing more.  Sure, there were times when maybe he pressed the needles a little harder than he had before and it made me gasp a little, but it seriously was not bad at all and I’m SO glad I finally did it.

After Kurt was done he did Crysta’s neck tattoo and the artist in the cube next door did Kelly’s ring tattoo and we were on our way with instructions for keeping our tattoos washed regularly and applying a thin layer of cocoa butter to keep it hydrated and not scabby.

So that’s my story.  It was really very simple, quick, and not too painful. I’d totally do it again and am already thinking of when and where to get my next tattoo 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2009 in Tattoos, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “I finally got a tattoo!!!

  1. Frickin' Fabulous at 40

    October 8, 2011 at 7:30 am

    Ok, so you say Garden City is really far from where you live. Are you on Long Island? I’m in Shirley, south shore of Suffolk County.

    P.S. I would love to get a tattoo, but my husband doesn’t really like them and I haven’t fallen in love with any design yet. We were in the city and we visited Ami James’ shop in Greenwich Village and he was there! I should have thought up something quick on the spot just so he could do it!

     
    • whenonedoorcloses

      October 8, 2011 at 10:19 am

      Oh! I got the tattoo when I lived in Michigan so Garden City, Michigan 🙂 Near Detroit. I live in Maryland now.

       
      • Frickin' Fabulous at 40

        October 8, 2011 at 2:36 pm

        LOL! Dumb me! There’s a Garden City here on LI, so I just assumed you were here! I sometimes forget there’s a whole big world out there!!!

         
  2. Dwane

    October 9, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    To reduce the pain try http://tatbalm.net I would use for it’s Long Lasting Tattoo Pain Reduction, it also has a deep Penetrating Antiseptic. It;s all natural proprietary blend that’s healthy for the skin plus significantly reduces the time for the open wound / tattoo to heal.

     

Leave a Reply

 
