RSS

The obligatory January 1st blog entry

01 Jan

It’s totally cliche but something about New Year’s Day just tends to have that affect on a person with all that “where have I come from, where am I going, what are my goals a resolutions” kind of thought process.

Well this year I’ve decided that I do need to set some goals but without the looking back with regrets or anything. Yes, 2012 was the single worst year of my life so far, but I surely don’t want to dwell on that. In fact, I only know that my last blog post was some time in September after leaving my last job and starting my new job. I’m pretty sure the content was not positive and that’s OK. It’s time to move on and gently embrace myself first, then whatever 2013 brings.

That said, I do have some things I’d like to work on:

  1. Make an effort toward health & fitness. I picked up a decent treadmill on Craigslist which is in my old office and is not the best place for it. J has agreed to let me move it down to the man cave where I can have a small corner to use the treadmill and store my yoga supplies. I got a great deal from yogadownload.com over the holidays so I’m all set up for walking, meditating, and stretching in the cave.
  2. As for weight loss, yes, I’d like to drop some pounds but I’m not going to skip parties because “bad” food will be there. I’m not going to completely deprive myself, but I’m not going to pig out either. Focus more on intuitive eating and making better choices.
  3. Make peace with my past. Accept that my father is dead, my aunt is dead, things change and are never the same again but life goes on. And picking up destructive habits to help cope with life’s curveballs is not the right way to work through it. I need to find other methods.
  4. Stay out of my own head. Don’t think so much and wonder why things are they way they are. Accept it, don’t let it hurt me, move on, don’t make the same mistake twice.
  5. Choose my battles – with myself, I mean. There are so many hobbies I enjoy that I try to do them all, get burnt out, then don’t want to do any of them. I want to shoot for being away from home only 2 nights a week rather than 4 nights plus Saturday. If something becomes too much drama and not enough fun, I’m done with it. No more going out of feelings of guilt or obligation.
  6. Positivity – Just need to focus on the positive more often. Don’t dwell in the past, live in the present, look hopefully toward the future.Image

So there it is. Not too earth-shattering or deep. I’m not sure how often I’ll write here and what I’ll write if I do.

If anyone is still out there reading, thanks for sticking around. I hope you have lovely winter holidays and enjoy a happy, healthy 2013.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “The obligatory January 1st blog entry

  1. bzmomma

    January 15, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    Goodluck on your resolutions! Here’s to a new year and new you and newness in general..

    *cheers*

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

